National Poetry Competition

2008 Christopher James Farewell To The Earth - Best Poem

2007 Sinead Morrisey Through The Square Window - Best Poem

2006 Mike Barlow The Third Wife - Best Poem

2005 Melanie Drane The Year The Rice-Crop Failed - Best Poem

2004 Jon Sait Homeland - Best Poem

2003 Colette Bryce The Full Indian Rope Trick - Best Poem

2002 Julia Copus Breaking The Rule - Best Poem

2001 Beatrice Garland Undressing - Best Poem

2000 Ian Duhig The Lammas Hireling - Best Poem

The UK National Poetry Competition was established in 1978. It is one of Britain's top single poem competitions. It is judged completely anonymously by a new set of judges each year.

It is often the spring-board to a higher poetry profile and a book deal with a major poetry publisher.

Further information can be found here.